29 Aug
Some of the salient significance of  NUMBER 18 in Hinduism.

The significance of the Number 18 cascades to several predominantly important features of Hinduism.

Sabarimala is engulfed in the predominance of the number 18.

It is believed that there are 18 steps to attain Moksha.

There are many theories about the significance of 18 steps in the pilgrimage to Sabarimala. It is believed that the steps represent 18 mountains surrounding the temple. On each step, the deity of the corresponding mountain has been installed. So when the devotee climbs the 18 steps to reach the sanctum sanctorum, he attains the punya of visiting all 18 hill gods. During the padipuja, deities of these 18 mountains are propitiated.

The 18 mountains are: Ponnambalamedu, Gowdenmala, Nagamala, Sundaramala, Chittambalamala, Khalgimala, Mathangamala, Myladummala, Sreepadamala, Devarmala, Nilakkalmala, Thalapparamala, Neelimala, Karimala, Puthuserrymala, Kalakettimala, Inchipparamala and Sabarimala.

The 18 steps are also considered as:-

5 indriyaas _ eye, ear, nose, tongue and skin;

8 rajas, kama, krodha, lobha, moha, mada, matasraya, aham and asooya;

3 gunas: satva guna, raja guna and tamo guna;

and vidya and avidya, thus making it 18.

Similarly, 18 is considered as the code number to break into the soul of the Nature. The significance of 18 can be traced back to the Vedic age.The first Veda, believed to be protected by Lord Brahma himself, had 18 chapters. Later, Veda Vyasa divided it to create the four vedas: Rigveda, Yajur Veda, Sama Veda and Atharava Veda.

Each of these vedas had 18 chapters.

Veda Vyasa also wrote 18 puranas and 18 upa-puranas.

The number 18 predominates the Mahabharatha Epic.  It is written in 18 parvas or books.

Adi Parva, Sabha Parva, Vana Parva, Virata Parva, Udyoga Parva, Bhisma Parva, Drona Parva, Karna Parva, Shalya Parva, Sauptika Parva, Stri Parva, Shanti Parva, Anushasana Parva, Ashwamedhika Parva, Ashramavasika Parva, Mausala Parva, Mahaprasthanika Parva, Svargarohana Parva.

One more Chapter, Harivamsa Parva is added to the Epic as an addendum to the 18 books, and covers those parts of the life of Lord Krishna which is not covered in the 18 parvas of the Mahabharata

The Bhagavad Gita has 18 chapters and the Kurukshetra war lasted 18 days. 18 groups of soldiers were involved – 11 in the Kouravas side and 7 in the Pandavas.  The War lasted 18 days.


Posted by on August 29, 2011 in Uncategorized



  1. Shreya

    September 15, 2011 at 7:30 am

    good one Sir !

  2. shreya nair

    September 15, 2011 at 7:52 am

    Though ma dad is a regular visitor of sabarimala.. Nd we r gr8 devotees of lord ayappa.. I never knew d significance of 18 (pathinettu padikal) .
    I am extremely happy that you gave me an oppurtunity to read your blog and learn about this aspect of Hinduism..
    Sir, i believe that like other relegions even we should give classes abt our relegion compulsarily. Otherwise our gen nd d generation ahead will lose its touch wid d relegion.
    Sunday classes nd madrasas help christian nd muslim kids to know more about their relegion.. Nd no wonder they are too much into it..
    bt yes chinmayananda mission ..sri rama krishna paramahamsa mission etc are trying from deir part. But even everyone in our community is not intrstd.. One day distant future tho.. We will be able to do smthng.. 🙂 lets hope for the best..
    Nd once again .. nice blog.. Well written .. Nd very very informative

  3. Rahul mehra

    April 5, 2016 at 7:58 am

    Really very interesting details and keen on using the number more and more.

    • kpp1991

      April 5, 2016 at 10:27 am

      Thank you Rahul


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: